The oldest written evidence of Samobor is The Charter of Bela IV, Croatian-Hungarian king. With this document, after the war with the Tartars, the king acknowledged the privileges given to Samoborians by Archduke Koloman two years earlier. The place of Samobor was thus elevated to the status of "free royal chartered marketplace", with the right of advowson (choosing the priest), electing the judge and administration of justice including the "right of sword" (ius gladii), e.g. the capital punishment. Samobor had no other lords except its own citizens, and paid taxes only to the king.
Around years 1261-1271 The Samobor Castle was build on the hill above the town. It was built by supporters of Bohemian king Otokar Přemisl II in the war over Babenberg heritage. In the year 1274 the castle was taken over by duke Ivan Okićki. The owners of the castle changed often, but they all respected the privileges given by Bela IV, until by mistake in the year 1488 Barbara Frankopan was introduced as the owner of not only the castle but the place itself. The struggle for justice and old privileges lasted for three hundred years and was finally ended by the end of 18 century. Until that time the castle deteriorated to such extent that the owners deserted it. Finally Samobor bought the ruins in 1902.
Franciscan monastery and church of BV Mary’s Assumption from 1733, with ancient library, a few incunabula
St. Michael’s Chapel and St. George’s Chapel from 16 century
St. Philip and Jacob’s Chapel from 17 century
St. Anne’s Chapel from 18 century
Livadić Mansion from 18 century
Town brass band founded in 1807, second oldest in Croatia
First library and reading room was founded in 1843, People’s Library And Reading Room in 1900, active still